EEX Excellence Award

In 2017, EEX will present the Excellence Award for the seventh time. This Award honors outstanding research papers that deal with current political, regulatory, technical or economic questions in the fields of energy and agricultural products as well as exchange trading of both. Moreover, the focus can also be on subjects of sustainability. The prerequisite is that the paper was completed in the second half of 2016 or will be completed in 2017.

The EEX Excellence Award includes for each winner a financial prize of EUR 1,000 and the opportunity to attend the EEX Exchange Trader Course free of charge. The award can be presented for up to five theses which are convincing on account of their creativity and offer new approaches to solutions, in addition to a profound discussion of the problem.

Documents to be submitted:

  • Curriculum vitae (at max. 2 pages)
  • Summary providing information on the subject, aim, methodology and results of the paper (at max. 5 pages)
  • Letter of recommendation of the responsible lecturer or academic supervisor substantiating the merit of this paper

Applications via e-mail to until 2017/10/15

Winners of the EEX Excellence Award 2017

This year, EEX presented the Excellence Award for six scientific papers.


  • Abderrahim Assab, Preisträger, Imperial College London
  • Annika Klettke, Preisträger, RWTH Aachen
  • Sven Böhme, Preisträger, TU Dresden
  • Yu Yau Hing, Preisträger, Centre International de Formation Européenne (CIFE)

Further award winners - not visible on the photo:

  • Micha Kahlen, Preisträger, Rotterdam School of Management
  • Dennis Bergmann, Preisträger, Cork Institute of Technology

In their works, the award winners analysed the following subjects:

  • “Institutional investors and low-carbon infrastructure investment”, master’s thesis by Assab Abderrahim, Imperial College London
  • “Model-based analysis of sales options for battery storage on the day-ahead market using the Phelix and Cap Futures”, master’s thesis by Sven Böhme, TU Dresden
  • “Development of a Process for the Evaluation of the Balancing Requirement under Consideration of Imbalance Netting”, master’s thesis by Annika Klettke, RWTH Aachen
  • “Facilitation of linkage of EU-ETS and China-ETS in responding to climate change issues”, master’s thesis by Yu Yau Hing, Centre International de Formation Européenne (CIFE)
  • “FleetPower: Creating Virtual Power Plants in Sustainable Smart Energy Markets”, doctoral thesis by Micha Kahlen, Rotterdam School of Management Erasmus University
  • “An application of time series methods to investigate EU dairy commodity price dynamic”, doctoral thesis by Dennis Bergmann, Cork Institute of Technology
  • Winners of the last years