New Exchange Council of EEX elected

New Exchange Council of EEX elected

Following the end of the Exchange Council’s term of office of three years, the trading participants of the European Energy Exchange (EEX) elected a new Exchange Council in accordance with the applicable schedule on 30 May 2018. The Exchange Council represents the interests of the trading participants. It also supervises the Exchange Management Board and is involved in all essential decisions concerning the further development of the exchange.

The Exchange Council has a total of 24 members and approves the rules and regulations of the exchange and changes to it. The participants voted in different election categories in order to adequately represent the different interests of the Exchange Council. The election was carried out via postal vote and resulted in the following new composition in the five groups.

The group of interconnected utilities and trading companies is represented by:

  • Michael Bonde, Uniper Global Commodities SE
  • Paul Dawson, RWE Supply & Trading GmbH
  • Bernd Dinauer, Engie Global Markets SAS
  • Jens Göbel, ENI Trading & Shipping S.p.A.
  • John Grey, EDF Trading Limited
  • David Poupé, CEZ a.s.
  • Andrea Siri, Edison Trading S.p.A.
  • Dr. Bernhard Walter, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
  • Leonardo Zannella, Enel Trade S.p.A.

The group of municipal and regional suppliers is represented by:

  • Ralf Henze, Enercity AG
  • Volker Lischke, BKW Energie AG
  • Dr. Michael Redanz, EWE Trading GmbH
  • Stefan Sewckow, MVV Trading GmbH

The group of banks and financial service providers is represented by:

  • Dr. Wolf B. von Bernuth, Energy & More Energiebroker GmbH und Co. KG
  • Jesper Severin Johanson, InCommodities A/S
  • Michel de Keréver, HYDROPTION SAS
  • Roderick Timmer, Cross Options International IV B.V.

Vincent van Lith, ABN AMRO Clearing Bank N.V, was elected as the representative of the group of the members of the EEX clearing house. Pierre Chevalier, DB Energie GmbH, represents the group of commercial consumers.

In addition to the trading participants of the exchange, four associations delegate one representative each to this board. These are the Federal Association of the German Energy and Water Industries (BDEW – Bundesverband der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft), the Association of the Energy and Power Industry (VIK – Verband der Industriellen Energie- und Kraftwirtschaft e.V.), the Federal Association of German Industry (BDI – Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V.) and the European Federation of Energy Traders (EFET). In addition to these members, the Exchange Council will elect one representative from energy science.

The chairman and deputy chairman of the Exchange Council will be elected in the constitutive meeting of the Exchange Council in Leipzig on 27 June 2018.

In his capacity as the acting chairman of the Exchange Council, Dr. Michael Redanz, wishes to thank those members who will leave the Council – Matteo Ballarin, Europe Energy S.p.A., Niek den Hollander, Vattenfall Energy Trading, Pierre Guesry, Alpiq AG, Jason LaBrooy, Macquarie Bank Limited, Kerstin Ludwig, BNP Paribas, Dr. Carsten Poppinga, Statkraft Markets GmbH and Hugo Testat, UEM SAEML – for the constructive and trusting cooperation on behalf of the Exchange Council.


The European Energy Exchange (EEX) is the leading energy exchange in Europe which develops, operates and connects secure, liquid and transparent markets for energy and related products. As part of EEX Group, a group of companies serving international commodity markets, EEX offers contracts on Power and Emission Allowances as well as Freight and Agricultural Products. EEX is part of Deutsche Börse Group.

> Download full Press Release